Are you a smart shopper?

September 2, 2009 at 11:13 AM 5 comments

Do you comparison shop or buy the first thing you see? Are you good at spotting bargains? Where do you find your best bargains?

What kind of shopping do you do when you’re traveling? Do you shop differently when you travel from when you’re at home?

Entry filed under: 1. Tags: .

What is your favorite commercial? Would you push the button?

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bruna grevy  |  September 20, 2009 at 11:35 PM

    Hi teacher! =)

    To be honest, sometimes, especially when I’m sad, I have impulses that make me buy the first thing I see. Despite these moments, usually, I’m a good shopper and even do comparisons before I buy.
    I’m not really good at spotting bargains but I remember, some time ago, when I was in love with a very expensive dress in a store here in Rio, and then I found the same dress at a more honest price in NY!! In my opinion, these things make the clothes more special.
    When I’m traveling I like to buy things that we don’t have here. For example, a cosmetics brand, a clothing store that I like, a specific food or something that is more expensive when sold here.. The things in general are much cheaper outside Brazil and, because of that, I buy more when I travel than when I’m at home.

    Reply
  • 2. Eric  |  September 23, 2009 at 7:39 AM

    Hey Paulo!
    I’m usually a smart shopper. I only buy what I need, and I’m usually frugal with my money. That is, except if I’m travelling abroad.
    When I travel, I become a different person. I buy out of impulse things that I don’t need and even some that I can’t use. I buy souvenirs, clothes, shoes, food, cds, books,… Virtually anything that I like and can get my hands on.
    But then again, since I’m usually wise with my money (at least in my home country) I tend to save up, which in the end balances the equazion. I find it quite amusing that one can change so much by just crossing a border, don’t you, Paulo?

    Reply
  • 3. Cassiano Barbosa  |  September 26, 2009 at 12:01 AM

    Hi Paulo,

    Actually I don’t like to go shopping. It has a lot of stores with too much information and I have a terrible problem to find what I want.
    Usually I go to good sales and buy something that I need.
    And I get pleasure out of saving money, when I buy something expensive I feel guilty.

    Reply
  • 4. Pedro  |  September 27, 2009 at 7:00 PM

    Hey, Paulo!
    Actually I don’ t have a lot of patience to search for many prices at different stores, so I ‘m certainly not that careful with my money. I also don’ t bargain much, excpeting those (rare) times when I don’ t have enough money to pay for the product I want for a few bucks; at these times, I ask for a little discount. I don’ t shop much; usually my parents buy my clothes, and I don’t often go to shopping malls on my weekends, only for watching movies. The only things that I actually buy alone is food, games sometimes, books occasionaly and high school material. As I don’ t consume much, and I don’ t bargain a lot, I probably can’t be considered a smart shopper.

    Reply
  • 5. Thais Ribeiro  |  October 27, 2009 at 1:36 PM

    Sometimes I am so excited to buy something that I don’t search in different stores. Almost all the time I search , and I find something cheaper. When I see a store that is on sale , I have to enter, because I love stores on sale , they kind of have a magnet that pulls me into the store, most of the times I buy something, but I have the pleasure to enter and see low prices. Last week I went to Barra Shopping and I wanted to buy a Nextel, in all the stores I found the Nextel for 350 reais. My mom said that she would look in other places, and she found it for 200 reais in downtown, so I saved 150 reais.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Today is…

Blog Stats

  • 13,605 hits

Delicious

RSS ibeu Meier

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS ibeu Station

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Follow ibeu RJ

VOA Learn English

CNN

ABC News

ESPN

TIME

LIFE

Larry King

Justin Timberlake

University of Peace


